Colourful Brood by Tessa Kate Lowe

My mother always said

She should have been a farmer’s wife

And had six children:

As it was, she was an actress

And had only me; I don’t think

I was a disappointment but tried

Too hard I fear, to be the other five

Just to make sure.

She wasn’t able to bear her

Craved for babes but made up

For not being a farmer’s wife

By breeding birds;

Zebra Finches Gouldian Finches

Java sparrow’s big cockatiels

And tiny quail; mallard ducks

Muscovy ducks, bantam hens

Laying hens, cocky cockerels.

Every day she would survey

Her tiny half an acre

Followed by her faithful brood:

Wire haired terrier

Long haired Persian

Budgerigar

Siamese cat and me.

 

Leave a Reply

