SPELLBOUND by Tessa Lowe

When I was a child it was Chameleons;

And Shongalulus:

I never did know how to spell

Those hard black curly creatures

With the hundred legs

Centipede is easier

Yet somehow Shangalulu stays

Camouflaged:

Unlike the strange Chameleon

Who so stunned me into silence

When I lost him, blended into the

Dappled shade of mulberry and avocado:

When I found him secreted; changed

Still; one paw or claw or footpad

Poised aloft, indecisive, I watched him

Spellbound still myself

In wonder: listening to the crickets

Scratch their incessant fiddles

Through summer’s reeling days.

Leave a Reply

